Karl R.

University: Cambridge University

Degree Subject: Medicine

Location: London and Cambridge

Teaching Subjects:
Medicine: University Q&A, Personal Statement, Oxbridge Interview, BMAT
A-Level: Chemistry, Biology, Medicine
IB (HL): Chemistry, Biology, Medicine
IB (SL): Chemistry, Biology, Medicine

Favourite interview question

"How can malpractice be avoided in hospitals?"

About Myself

My name is Karl and I am a second year medical student at Cambridge. I have achieved First Class Honours after my first year of study and ranked 20th in the year out of over 300 medics.

I am part Cypriot, part German, but have lived in London all of my life. I attended the German School London where I completed a dual qualification, consisting of both the IB and German Abitur. The fact I completed both qualifications means I have covered almost all of the Chemistry and Biology that can come up in exams. Result-wise I achieved 95%+ (raw mark) on every exam set by the German examination system. In the IB I achieved 7/7 in HL Chemistry and 48/48 moderated marks in my IA.

Any question? Go ahead.

I look forward to helping out,

Tutoring Approach

My teaching style is usually centred around helping the student to fully understand the underlying concepts of a topic; of course I am always prepared to adapt to the student. Whilst teaching I also enjoy using analogies and visual images to better illustrate complex concepts. In any case, I try to work out the best teaching style once I have met the student.

Teaching Experience

I am currently teaching over 10 different students and have been tutoring over the past 3 years (GCSE to A-Level/IB standard).

Extracurricular Interests

During term time I am involved in the college medical and finance societies.
I really enjoy travelling, meeting new people and trying out new activities.
I am a keen runner, climber and cyclist.