Maxime S.

University: Oxford

Degree Subject: Mathematics

Location: Central Sussex or Oxford (depending on the time of year)

Teaching Subjects:
Mathematics: University Q&A, Personal Statement, Oxbridge Admissions Test, Oxbridge Interview
A-Level: Mathematics
IB (HL): Mathematics
IB (SL): Mathematics
Pre-U: Mathematics

About Myself

I am a Mathematics graduate from Lincoln College, Oxford. Prior to university, I graduated from Wellington College with 4A*s in Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Economics in A level and was top Academic Scholar of my year (as well as a music and sports scholar). I was raised in England but speak good French. I am experienced in both the Ivy League and Oxbridge application process as I turned down a place at Yale to come and study at Oxford and am happy to help at any level in maths.

Tutoring Approach

There often comes a time when a student either needs a push in the right direction or to see a different approach to a problem. My aim as a tutor is to set a clear framework in which a student can learn for themselves and to provide the push that is sometimes needed. However, ultimately my tutoring approach will change according to the student and their aims.

Teaching Experience

I have been teaching friends and family maths since my IGCSE year and have continued to do so since. In fact, during my school years it felt as if every maths homework in school had passed across my desk at some point! I was also head of Academic scholars and as such often helped pupils with their questions.

Extracurricular Interests

I have done a variety of sports and music seriously since I was young. Golf used to be my main sport but I now play any and all sports socially. In terms of music, I play the trumpet and piano and I am particularly involved in jazz music at the moment.