Michael S.

University: Oxford, St. John's College

Degree Subject: Neuroscience

Location: Oxford

Teaching Subjects:
Neuroscience: Personal Statement, University Q&A, Oxbridge Interview
A-Level: Chemistry, Mathematics, English
IB (HL): Chemistry, Mathematics, English
IB (SL): Chemistry, Mathematics, English
AP: Chemistry, Mathematics, English
SAT II: Chemistry, Mathematics, English


About Myself

Hello, my name is Michael Song, and I am studying for a PhD in Neuroscience at the University of Oxford. I grew up in Hong Kong and Ireland and did my high school and undergraduate studies in Canada. I did IB, and I was the first and only person in my school to score 44. I studied for three years (I used my IB credits to skip a year) at Dalhousie University with the Chancellor’s Scholarship (a full scholarship) and graduated at the top of my year.

Afterwards, I completed a master's degree in Neuroscience at Oxford and am currently funded by the UK Commonwealth Scholarship for my PhD studies at Oxford.

Tutoring Approach

In my past experience, I found it most helpful and convenient to use platforms such as Skype, Google Docs, and awapp to teach students. This way neither the student nor myself has to make special traveling arrangements for a tutoring session, which enables both parties to engage in tutorial sessions wherever and whenever they are most comfortable. In my sessions, I typically get students to be very active via problem solving or writing essays on which I can comment "live" through Google Docs. I found that this saves a lot of time for everyone since I don't have to wait for students to complete their essays before I review them, and it also relieves the student from much pressure to prepare for our next session.

For those interested in my services, my Skype ID is michaelsong7791.

Teaching Experience

IB Mathematics HL, Biology HL, Chemistry HL, English (SL + HL), History (SL + HL) Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge mentoring (2012 ~ current): 

I have mentored 10 IB students so far, and one student even achieved 6 out of 7 in English HL

In addition, I also assist students with university application processes (completing the application form, writing essays, organizing deadlines etc) for both undergraduate and graduate level programs. My previous students have been accepted to programs in dentistry, pharmacy, and medicine.

Extracurricular Interests

I enjoy swimming and rowing, and I also practice crossfit. Moreover, I also enjoy reading, George R R Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" series being my latest interest.